New CMS ICD-10 Implementation Guide for Payers

On March 13, 2013, CMS issued an updated ICD-10 Implementation Guide for Payers, which details why we’re transitioning to ICD-10, gives an overview of ICD-10 and its benefits, outlines the difference between ICD-9 and ICD-10, and explains how to implement the ICD-10 code set. CMS recommends breaking down the ICD-10 implementation project into six phases:

  1. Planning Phase
  2. Communication and Awareness Phase
  3. Assessment Phase
  4. Implementation Phase
  5. Testing Phase
  6. Transition Phase

We highly recommend that all our healthcare payer friends read this handy 56-page ICD-10 Implementation Guide. You may also benefit from CMS’ ICD-10 Timeline and ICD-10 Checklist for payers.

About HCIM’s ICD-10 Services >>