What is ICD-10?

The 10th revision of the International Classification of Diseases consists of:
• a tabular list containing cause of death titles and codes
• inclusion and exclusion terms for cause of death titles
• an alphabetical index to diseases and nature of injury, external causes of injury, table of drugs, and chemicals
• descriptions, guidelines, and coding rules

ICD-10 has two components:
ICD-10-CM is the new diagnosis coding system that is being developed as a replacement for ICD-9-CM, Volumes 1 & 2. The number of diagnostic codes under ICD-10-CM will swell from around 13,000 to 68,000.

ICD-10-PCS, for “procedural coding system,” is being developed as a replacement for ICD-9-CM, Volume 3, for inpatient procedure reporting. ICD-10-PCS would be used by hospitals and payers. ICD-10-PCS is significantly different from Volume 3 and from CPT codes, and will require significant training for users. The number of inpatient procedure codes will jump from 4,000 to 72,500 with ICD-10-PCS. ICD-10-PCS will not affect the coding of physician services in their offices. However, physicians should be aware that documentation requirements under ICD-10-PCS are quite different, so their inpatient medical record documentation will be affected by this change.